The Fast erase option will finish in about a minute, in contrast to the Full erase that can take more than half an hour.
If you choose Fast erase, you only delete the table of contents. The data itself stays on the disc, but your computer can't access it. Fast is the recommended option.
However, if you have sensitive data on your disk, choose Full to completely erase all information.